Final Annual Meeting 2016

The final annual meeting of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Scholars in Health Policy Research Program was held at the Aspen Meadows Resort in Aspen, CO on June 1-3, 2016. The 100 participants included more than 70 Scholars and alumni, plus site faculty, National Advisory Committee members, National Program Office staff, and officers from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.

Since 1995, the annual meeting had enabled Scholars to meet with their academic mentors, members of the National Advisory Committee, and other distinguished policy scholars to share their research in an inspirational setting conducive to spirited dialogue, serious reflection, and extraordinary camaraderie. In keeping with the Program’s time-honored tradition, the final meeting focused largely on the research presentations of the nine Cohort 21 Scholars, but also included a special session that reflected on the Program’s history and contributions to health policy research.

During the meeting, the three Program site directors and the National Advisory Committee members were honored for their valuable leadership and guidance over the years. In addition, participants heard reflections from Alan Cohen (national program director), Mark Peterson (National Advisory Committee chair), David Colby (former RWJF vice president), and Lori Melichar (RWJF director overseeing the program) regarding the Program’s 25-year journey and its enduring legacy. The site directors and several National Advisory Committee members as well as alumni also shared their memories and recollections.

These photos and videos highlight the meeting’s festivities, including the opening and closing speeches, the award presentations, and a rousing farewell sing-a-long by Program alumni!

A toast and farewell to the Program!
(Click the photo to enlarge.)